Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

I was reading through Pam’s message, and one of the statements has given me pause. Will the autoimmune problem still be with me, once the thyroid is gone? As I understand it (and I admit I’m not a doctor or scientist), there are a LOT of autoimmune diseases. Graves is very specific in that it attacks the thyroid. Your immune system sees the thyroid as an alien invader, like a virus or a transplanted organ, and creates a chemical that very specifically attacks that bit of tissue called the thyroid. If the thyroid is gone, then, WHY would those chemical antibodies still be produced? Or is production of these antibodies lowered? I guess my logic in opting for RAI was that if the thyroid scars over, and ultimately disappears (according to my endo this happens after RAI), then there should be no “trigger” for the autoimmune response of Graves. Who knows?

I have to admit, up front, that I respond to medications differently than some people. I can’t even take the non-steroidal anti-inflammatories that are all the rage these days, with doctors. So my response to PTU may just have been the fact that my body didn’t like it. So I have to work with that, and others of you may not. With respect to PTU, however,it DOES matter how you take it. It is not like methimazole (Tapazole, etc.) which has a longer half-life and only has to be taken once a day. PTU is only potent for eight hours, so if you are lackadaisical about how you take it, it will not be as effective as it should be. And if you discover that you have missed a dose, you need to double up the next time you take your pills.

Bobbi

Anonymous