Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Welcome, Donna. . .

Glad to hear you’re learning all you can. Tapazole is not the only anti-thyroid drug you can try. Good idea to get the second opinion in a case like yours. It seems a little premature to be considering RAI, given the facts you presented. Normal thyroid uptake and scan? I don’t understand the diagnosis of GD, but I’m not a doctor.
      Let us know when you find out more.

Dianne N

Anonymous

Hi everyone! I was recently diagnosed with Graves Disease and have been doing lots of reading and I’m a bit confused. Basically, my T3 and T4 are high normal and my TSH is low. I don’t know the exact numbers, I will get them when I see my endo. My thyroid uptake and scan were normal. The endo has diagnosed “mild” Graves Disease. I tried Tapazole, but broke out in hives. I’m concerned about having RAI without something more definitive than a low TSH, although I do have some of the other symptoms I’ve read about (chronic fatigue and mental fogginess). Has anyone else had any experiences this? Should I have a second opinion?

Anonymous

Like the other response, I’M NO DOCTOR, but it seems a bit rushed to
          consider RAI if your condition is just mild. Also, like the other
          response, my understanding that a normal uptake scan is a little strange.
          My wife’s endo suggested that the higher the uptake scan, the more certain
          the condition is due to Graves. Does it stand to reason that a low scan
          is at least somewhat more likely to be due to other factors? There
          certainly are other causes of hyperthyroid activity (post partum, thyroid
          inflammation, benign tumors, etc.). If you don’t seek a second opinion,
          ask a lot of questions of your doc (write them all down first so you
          don’t forget when your under the gun) and even challenge your doc to
          suggest other options/causes or ask what the chances are that it is