Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Hi there! This is my first time posting (or joining any type of forum community lol). The short story: For several years I had a high heart rate, was repeatedly told it wasn’t hyperthyroid since my TSH was fine (lol). I had gone to a cardiologist which showed my heart was also fine, so basically everyone said to live with it. Finally after pushing my PCP, we did a full thyroid panel and unsurprisingly, it was hyperthyroid. Two months later, I am a diagnosed Grave’s disease patient.

I’ve been taking 5mg of methimazole for two weeks after I took 10mg for a little over a month. The blood panel after starting the 10mg showed my levels normalized, and were nearly hypo so they dropped me down to 5mg. My endo also said i could stop taking my beta blockers since I was no longer hyper…well, after stopping my beta blockers, my heart rate went up again and varies greatly.

I am curious if anyone still experienced rapid heart rates despite finding success with their labs on methimazole? If so, what did you do next? I am of course following up with my endo but I’d love to hear what other patients have experienced. I am considering trying some complementary medicines like lemon balm (with consulting a doctor first of course), and curious if anyone has found success in this regard. I am super grateful that a low-ish methimazole dosage has helped my labs, but I haven’t seen it help my heart rate yet…in total, I’ve been on the drug about 1.5 months. Thank you!

Kimberly
      Online Facilitator

Hello and welcome! Just a note that we don’t discuss alternative/complementary treatment options here, unless there is peer-reviewed research to provide some evidence of safety & effectiveness. You are *definitely* smart to ask your doctor about supplements, which can be toxic in larger doses and can also interact with other meds.