Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

There have been a bunch of questions about nursing an infant and GD. I
      understand that a non-profit support group called the LaLeche League
      is the place to turn. They support nursing mothers and answer all
      kinds of questions. They have come out with some new guidelines and
      it includes suggestions for people with all kinds of thyroid disease.
      Your can look up your local number or call the national number at
      1-800-LaLeche…..hope this helps! …..Carolyn :-)

Anonymous

Hi, I’m going to try again. Seems like I am having trouble posting my
        message. I am new to the internet but not to GD. After 2 years of treating
        me for stress, the doctor finally diagnosed my GD. Was ok for awhile but
        now my TSH is 7.1 so they have increased my synthroid. I’m suppose to take
        my grandchildren to Disney World next week, but my muscles are weak, my body
        itches, my eyes water and I’m irritable. Any suggestions on how to feel
        better? Really want to take this trip. Enjoying your messages.
        Thanks, Kit

Anonymous

Is anyone else nursing a child. I was diagnosed with Graves when my baby was 3 months old. Thanks to Le Leche League am am still nursing my daughter at 15 months. I am on PTU (1 1/2) tablets a day. I also take a low dose of a tranquilizer and an anti-inflammatory for wrist and finger pain.

Anonymous

Lea,

PTU does cross the milk barrier as well as the placenta. May want to have the Ped doc keep an eye on you child’s thyroid functions.

Jake

Anonymous