Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

Hi Everyone!

I was diagnosed with GD on Jan 31st this year. I had been losing weight for the previous 6 months and had horrible hand tremors for about 4 months. I had went through a very stressful time at work just at the time these symptoms occurred so I chalked it up to that. I didn’t have hair loss but noticed my hair had less body. I have had three surgeries in the last two years, carpal and ulnar tunnel releases both arms and a torn meniscus in my right knee. I was diagnosed with PVC’s about 7 yrs ago, but no treatment needed at this time. I did have Epstein-Barr about 14 years ago and have never felt back to my old self since.

Thyroid Peroxidase Antibody
      578 IU/ml
      Negative <100
      Equivocal 100-200
      Positive >120

Free T3 12.5 pg/ml
      Free T4 3.68 ng/dl
      3rd Gen. TSH .0.005 uIU/ml

Thyroid Uptake w/scan

24 hr RAIU 64% 10.0-36.0%
      TSH <0.005 uIU 0.27-4.2 uIU

Enlarged gland with uniformly increased distribution of activity. There is evidence of a pyramidal lobe.

My GP put me on 5mg MMI and 10mg 2x daily Propanolol for tremors.

Went to the Endo this week and he increased MMI to 20mg daily and has me scheduled for an ultrasound next month. I also had labs done there and have not received results to date. I am not sure what these test results are saying. I go back to the GP for more blood work next week. Any info on the results would be helpful. All both Drs say is you are hyperthyroid and have Graves Disease.

Kimberly
      Online Facilitator

Hello and welcome! We’re not doctors here, just fellow patients, so we can’t interpret lab results. I would encourage you to get a hard copy of your labs, so you can see where your Free T4 and T3 are compared to the “normal” reference ranges – and keep track of them over time.

Speaking in general terms having T4/T3 that are *above* the normal range indicates hyperthyroidism, as does having TSH that is *below* the normal range.