gatorgirly

I’m not an expert, just a patient who went through RAI. My uptake scan was done at my endocrinologist’s office. There is a nuclear medicine department within the office, since the facility houses internal medicine, endocrinology, rheumatology, infusion therapy, laboratory, physical therapy, sleep studies, and of course, radiology (under which nuclear medicine falls). So although you say this is highly unlikely, that was the case at this particular office. It was like a mini hospital. The only reason I couldn’t have my RAI there was because of my insurance – I worked for the hospital and my endocrinologist’s office was not affiliated with the hospital, although the physicians had practicing rights there (you as a nurse will understand this, others may not – semantics). As we know, medicine is practiced differently all over the country. I think you are the one who posted that your oculofacial surgeon ran all of your TED tests, when usually a neuro-ophthalmologist does that. In Florida, where the RAI was given, I had my choice between having it at my endo’s office or the hospital. There wasn’t much of a choice between paying out-of-pocket and letting insurance cover it, but it was a choice nonetheless. In Florida, I had a neuro-ophthalmologist. Here in MA, I do not. My TED is stable and in the cold phase, so my surgeon is handling all testing leading up to my OD.

My endocrinologist recommended 10 mCi to the nuclear radiologist. The radiologist refused to give me anything until he spent two hours reviewing my full medical history. It was frustrating and a long wait in the hospital, but I’m glad he reviewed everything before giving me the pill that would destroy my thyroid. Like you said, there was probably a bit of discussion between he and my endo during those multiple phone calls back and forth. My endo felt I only needed a small dose based on my uptake results, and the radiologist agreed in the end.